The Inuit have been known until not long ago as “Eskimo” by outsiders. They would rather be known as Inuit which means people. Around 4000 Inuit live in the Arctic area of North America, from the Bering Strait all the way to East Greenland, their land covering a distance of over 6000 kilometres. Inuit people also live in northern Alaska and Greenland, and are also closely related to communities in Siberia, Russia. They are united by a common cultural heritage and language. There are many dialects including Inupiaq spoken by the Innupiat in Alaska, Kalaallisut spoken by the Katladit in Greenland, Inuktitun spoken by the Innuvialuit of the Northwest Territories and Inuktitut spoken in the Western Arctic comprised of Nunavut, Nunavik and Labrador. About 27,000 people claim that Inuktitut is their first language making it the second most spoken language in Canada after Cree. For more information, visit